cornerstone-healing-center-logo-white

7 Things You Need to Do After Getting a DUI in Arizona

All of the information on this page has been reviewed and fact-checked by an addiction expert.

Clinically Reviewed By: Karen Williams, LPC

All of the information on this page has been reviewed and fact-checked by an addiction expert.

We’re not going to sugar-coat it: If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Arizona, you have your work cut out.

There are several steps you have to take to comply with the courts, get your license back, and put the matter behind you. It’s a long process, but the good news is that thousands of people have met these requirements and moved on.

You can, too. 

This article explains the Arizona DUI laws and penalties and the seven things you must do after getting a DUI.

Contents

Arizona DUI Laws

  • You will be arrested for a Dizona if caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .08%.
  • If you’re a commercial driver, you will be arrested for a DUI if caught driving and your BAC is above .04%.
  • If caught driving with your system, you could be charged with a DUI.

Many people mistakenly believe that when you’ve been pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence, you don’t have to submit to the on-the-spot test for blood alcohol. This isn’t true. According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, when you apply for a driver’s license in Arizona, you consent to be tested under these conditions. This is called the Implied Consent Law.

Of course, a police officer can’t physically compel you to submit to the test. If you refuse to take the test, your license is automatically suspended for one year. If it is your second or third offense and you refuse the test, your license will be suspended for two years.

On top of that, the police officer will likely ask a judge to issue a warrant for the test anyway, in which case you will be compelled to take the test. Then you can be convicted of a criminal DUI charge.

What Happens if You Get a DUI in Arizona?

According to the Arizona Department of Public Safety, there are three tiers of offenses:

First Offense:

  • Jail: Minimum of 24 hours to 10 days in jail
  • Fines: $250 base fine
  • License suspension or license revocation: 90 to 360 days
  • Interlock ignition device required
  • Community service required
  • Required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment

Second Offense:

  • Jail: Minimum of 30 days in jail and max of 60 days in jail
  • Fines: $500 base fine
  • License suspension: 1 year
  • Interlock ignition device required
  • Community service required
  • Required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment

Third Offense:

  • Jail: Minimum of 4 months in jail
  • Fines: $750 base fine
  • License suspension: 1 year
  • Interlock ignition device required
  • Community service required
  • Required to undergo alcohol screening/education/treatment

The penalties are even stiffer if you are convicted of extreme DUI (BAC of 0.15 or higher) or aggravated DUI. An aggravated DUI is when you are convicted of driving under the influence while your license is suspended, revoked, or canceled; for the third time in seven years; while a person under 15 is in the vehicle; or after refusing to take the BAC test. ADOT lays out these penalties on its site.

Now let’s examine what to do after getting a DUI in Arizona.

Get Help for DUI Charges Now!

Call to learn about our DUI services. We can help you meet court requirements to get your license back.

1. Consider if you have a drinking problem

Approximately 88,000 people die from alcohol-related deaths every year in this country, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control.

Excessive drinking is responsible for one in 10 deaths among adults ages 20-64, and driving under the influence accounts for more than 30% of all driving fatalities yearly.

Alcoholism affects people from all walks of life — “from Park Avenue to park bench,” as we say. Not everyone who gets a DUI is an alcoholic, but if you get one, you must consider if you could have a drinking problem.

Ask yourself :

  • Have you ever promised to stop drinking for a certain period but found you couldn’t last that long?
  • Do you ever plan on stopping at a certain point after the third or fourth drink but found that you overshot the mark?
  • Is drinking causing problems at home or work?
  • Have you ever thought that drinking is a problem?

Any “yes” answers could mean you have a drinking problem. Now is the time to seek help. Go to an AA meeting. Consider treatment for alcoholism in Arizona. Help is available — this is your wake-up call!

2. Undergo the required alcohol screening/education/treatment

Arizona requires you to undergo alcohol screening, education, and treatment after receiving a DUI within the state.

These DUI requirements consists of:

  • A meeting (virtual or face-to-face) with a behavioral health professional to screen you for drug and alcohol problems.
  • The classes you are assigned depend on the outcome of the interview.
  • Education consists of at least 16 hours in a classroom (online or in-person).

Cornerstone Healing Center in Scottsdale offers all three of the above services — screening, treatment, and education.

Our DUI services meet court-mandated DUI screening/education/treatment requirements. Contact us today to learn more.

3. Get your license back, post-DUI

As mentioned above, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days. You can petition to get a restricted license (this permits you to drive to work or school and to see a probation officer every 30 days post suspension, but you must complete step 2 before this option.

Once you have gone your assigned period without a license (whatever the judge gave you, 90 days to one year) and completed step 2, you can file with MVD for license reinstatement.

It may make things difficult and challenging not having your license, but the reality is that judges can order a license revocation if you get another DUI charge.

4. Equip your vehicle with a certified ignition interlock device

You must have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for 12 months and provide MVD with proof of installation before reinstating your license. Here’s a list of companies authorized by MVD to install these dDon’ts.

5. Don’t miss any court dates

How many times you have to appear in court will vary on the nature of your charges and how you plead. One thing is for certain: Do not miss any court dates.

If you do, the judge will issue a bench warrant for your arrest, and you have just complicated your life even more. You may wish to hire an attorney to represent you.

6. Pay your fines and fees

The base fine starts at $250 for a first offense, but court fees go up to $2that’s, not counting the cost of the screening, education classes, and treatment.

The court will work with you on a payment plan for the fees and fines, and do your best to stick to it.

Once you get isn’t, it isn’t easy to catch up. You might also spend days in jail if a judge determines you’ve had enough chance to catch up.

7. Complete community service

Finally, the court will likely order you to complete community service hours with a 501(c)3 nonprofit such as a food bank or animal shelter. Locate your city’s website to find local eligible non-profits. Let’s be real; community service is better than spending days in jail.

How to Get an Online DUI Screening

Cornerstone Healing Center is a respected long-term drug and alcohol treatment facility in Scottsdale. We provide state-approved DUI services, including DUI screening, DUI education classes, and DUI treatment.

Getting a DUI is a big deal. Getting a DUI in Arizona is bigger than in most of you. If you’ve had your run-in with the law and maybe you think you might have a drug or alcohol problem, we can help.

Our completion rates are five times higher than the national average, and we’re staffed by clean and sober people who have found a new way to live. Please reach out today.

Help for a DUI charge is one phone-call away.

Call to learn about our DUI services. We can help you meet court requirements to get your license back.

Questions about drug and alcohol treatment? We can answer your questions. 

Author: Cornerstone Content Team

Author: Cornerstone Content Team

Cornerstone's content team is comprised of writers with experience and expertise in addiction, treatment, and recovery.

Clinical Reviewer: Karen Williams, LPC

Clinical Reviewer: Karen Williams, LPC

Karen is a Licensed Professional Counselor with over 15 years experience. She not only specializes in addiction, but is in recovery as well. Karen is our clinical director.

Share across social: 

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Facebook

Related addiction and recovery guides

can-i-take-dui-classes-online-in-arizona
Marijuana DUI
Cornerstone Content Team

Can I Take DUI Classes Online?

Being charged with a DUI offense can be scary. Navigating the process of meeting court requirements can seem complicated. We answer the question “Can I take DUI classes in Arizona?” in depth.

Read More »
The Joint Commission logo that links to the Joint Commission homepage