In the state of Arizona, extreme DUI is considered a serious criminal offense. This offense occurs when someone drives under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15% or greater. It can also be an extreme DUI if someone drives under the influence of drugs, intoxicants, or vapor-releasing substances. The penalties for extreme DUI in Arizona can be significant and may include fines, community service, probation, license suspension or revocation, and even jail time.
Searching for help with drug and/or alcohol addiction? Call us now at (888) 201-4610.
Driving under the influence laws vary from state to state, but these laws are quite strict in Arizona. The legal definition of driving under the influence in Arizona is when a person operates or has actual physical control of a vehicle.
At the same time “there is any drug or its metabolite in the person’s body.” This means that if an officer chooses to administer a blood or urine test and it tests positive for any drug prohibited by law, you can be arrested for DUI even if your behavior does not show signs of intoxication.
Unfortunately, violations of this law come with serious consequences, including prison time and hefty fines. It is important to be aware of the specific DUI laws in your area and always drive sober.
If caught driving under the influence, you will be harshly punished. You can expect to spend at least thirty days in jail and pay a minimum fine of $2,500.
In addition, alcohol screening/education or treatment is mandatory, as well as performing community service and equipping any vehicle you operate with an ignition interlock device.
Committing a third offense Extreme DUI in Arizona can carry serious repercussions. If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is over 0.15, you will face mandatory jail time of at least 120 days with no suspension available – plus more than $3,500 in fines and related costs for court fees.
You’ll also be required to take part in mandated alcohol classes and screenings as well as community service hours numbering 30 or more; an ignition interlock device must be installed on any car you drive for 18 months along with having your license revoked for one year’s duration minimum – all this could await anyone who drinks and drives!
If you’ve committed three DUIs in the past seven years and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is higher than 0.15, then it may result in a misdemeanor Extreme DUI charge with enhanced penalties.
Such an offense carries mandatory minimums similar to those of Second-Offense Extreme DUIs but could be punished more severely depending on individual circumstances. important to keep in mind that extreme DUI charges are serious and can have long-term consequences.
If you have been charged with extreme DUI in Arizona, it is important to speak with an experienced extreme DUI defense attorney as soon as possible. A qualified legal professional can help protect your rights and ensure the best outcome for your case.
If you are convicted of extreme DUI in Arizona, the court will suspend your license for at least 12 months.
You may be eligible to get an extreme DUI-restricted license after at least 90 days if you meet certain requirements and follow the procedures outlined by the Motor Vehicle Division. These requirements include using an ignition interlock device (IID) on any car you drive and completing an alcohol education course.
It’s important to seek help from a knowledgeable extreme DUI defense attorney in Arizona if you face extreme DUI charges. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can assist with navigating the legal system, protecting your rights, and helping you obtain the best outcome possible.
If extreme DUI charges are filed against you, contact an attorney as soon as possible to ensure a strong defense is secured. An extreme DUI conviction in Arizona can have lifelong consequences, so protect yourself by taking proactive steps right away.
If you have been charged with extreme DUI in Arizona, the court may order you to attend an alcohol education program. You must contact a certified provider and begin attendance within 30 days of your conviction or sentence.
Cornerstone DUI provides low-cost self-paced alcohol education services to those who have been charged with a DUI in Arizona. Give us a call today to see how we can help you!
Share across social: